Breaking News
Home | Cagayan de Oro | 7 winning bets face disqualification raps

7 winning bets face disqualification raps

Correspondent .

SEVEN winning candidates for Sangguniang Kabataan chairpersons and councilors in the city are facing disqualification cases.

City election officer Ramil Acol identified the winning candidates for SK chairpersons as Ian Mark Miyaki of Barangay Cugman, Samson Roa of Barangay Tumpagon, and Agustin Laron of Barangay Indahag.

The winning candidates for SK councilors who are facing disqualification cases are Michelle Tamparong and Cyrel Romero of Barangay 32, Rosell Landeres of Barangay 21, and John Juaquin of Barangay Bonbon.

Lawyer Renato Magbutay, regional director of the Commission on Elections (Comelec), yesterday said the candidates, some of whom were already proclaimed as winners, turned out to be overaged.

But even if they were proclaimed, still, they cannot hold office until they are sworn in before the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), said Magbutay.

Neither can any of the seven winning candidates receive their salaries and benefits intended for SK officials, he said.

Magbutay said the Comelec here already informed the poll body’s law department in Manila about the seven winning candidates.

He said, complaints were also sent to Manila, and received by the Comelec en banc.

The order, according to Magbutay, was for election officials here not to proclaim them as winners.

The seven (not four as reported yesterday) were among the 23 SK candidates for chairpersons and councilors who insisted on running for youth council seats despite being cautioned by the Comelec.

“Giingnan naman ni sila panahon sa filing nga di sila puede kay taas nang edad. Mga gahi mag ulo, mamugos man gyud nga mo-file,” Magbutay said.


About mindanao goldstar daily

mindanao goldstar daily
TREND MAKER. Mindanao Gold Star Daily was established in 1989 to set ablaze a new meaning & flame to the local newspaper business. Throughout the years it continued its focus and interest in the rural areas & pioneered the growth of countryside journalism.

Check Also

Councilors accredit foundation in LSB

IN line with DILG Memorandum Circular No. 2016-97, the 18th City Council continues to accredit ...

DISCLAIMER: We welcome fiery exchanges but we do not tolerate ad hominem attacks, casting criminal and false aspersion on our reporters and opinion writers. We reserve the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted on our website without prior notice.

POSTING RULES: Do not use obscenity. Stick to the topic discussed. Do not veer away from the discussion and be respectful at all times. Do not use CAPITAL LETTERS as this means shouting in the thread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *