Home | Cagayan de Oro | Nazareth remains Rodriguez country
Former congressman Rufus Rodriguez looks onto a crowd of supporters during the Barangay and SK Election at South City Central School, this City.GSD File Photo by Dave Achondo.

Nazareth remains Rodriguez country

Correspondent .

NAZARETH has remained to be a Rodriguez country even as a scion of the prominent political family emerged as the vote-rich barangay’s new leader.

Rep. Maximo Rodriguez Jr.’s son and namesake Maximo III will succeed his aunt Jocelyn as Nazareth’s barangay chairman. Nazareth was reputedly the most tension-gripped barangay here during Monday’s elections.

Maximo III clobbered Councilor Ian Mark Nacaya’s wife Reina in Monday’s elections, garnering 3,129 votes as against the latter’s 1,674 votes or by a margin of 1,455 votes.

The rivalry between the younger Rodriguez and Ms. Nacaya, a daughter of the late market vendors’ leader and councilor Reynaldo Advincula, was seen as a proxy war between estranged political allies ex-congressman Rufus Rodriguez and Mayor Oscar Moreno over a vote-rich political bailiwick in the 2nd District.

A successful campaign by Ms. Nacaya would also have scored political points for her husband Ian Mark, a former supporter of ex-mayor Vicente Emano who moved to the ruling group of Moreno in 2016. The councilor, himself a former Nazareth barangay chairman, challenged the 2013 congressional reelection bid of Rufus, the eldest and the perceived leader of the Rodriguez family. Councilor Nacaya, then the 2nd District congressional candidate of the Emano-led Padayon Pilipino, was beaten black and blue in that year’s elections.

The Emano political family, meanwhile, showed that it was still a force to reckon with after its supposed candidate in Lapasan, another vote-rich 2nd District barangay, unseated village chief Omar Labuntog.

Labuntog, seen as a common candidate of the Rodriguezes and Moreno, was defeated by Julieto Ogsimer. Labuntog claimed Ogsimer was favored by the Emano-led Padayon Pilipino.

It was a close fight in Lapasan with Ogsimer winning with 4,742 against Labuntog who garnered 4,140 votes. There was a dark horse, “independent” candidate Rudy Mediana, who bagged 2,851 votes. Mediana is said to be a former bodyguard of ex-mayor Vicente Emano when the latter was governor before becoming a contractor.

The still incomplete list of winners in the race for barangay chairpersons here also showed a number of those identified with the Emanos winning seats in city’s two districts, mostly in the 1st District, while a few of those associated with the Rodriguezes won in the 2nd District. It is unclear yet exactly how many of the winning bets are associated with the groups of Moreno, the Emanos and the Rodriguezes.

Partial List

The Gold Star Daily secured a still incomplete list of winning candidates for barangay chairpersons in the just-held elections here from city elections officer Ramil Acol.

Acol said there were still board of election canvassers in the city that have yet to finish their work as of yesterday morning.

The partial list of winning candidates for barangay chairpersons:

Barangay 1 – Abejuela, Anthony; Barangay 3 -Adoraflor, Ely; Barangay 4 – Yap, Kim Clark; Barangay 5 – Englis, Raymart; Barangay 6 – Chui, Ian Glenn Lim;

Barangay 7 – Velez, Releign; Barangay 8 – Fernandez, Chris; Barangay 9 – Lim, Earlquim; Barangay 10 – Eblacas, Irien; Barangay 11 – Pabilona, Ferdinand;

Barangay 12 – Amparo, Felipe; Barangay 13 – Paasa, Mauricio; Barangay 14 – Luihee, Francisco; Barangay 15 Legaspi, Lucila; Barangay 16 – Jusay, Armecito;

Barangay 17 – Ebabacol, Jerico; Barangay 18 – Bade, Esther; Barangay 19 – Young, Christopher; Barangay 20 – Pabilic, Segundo; Barangay 21 Go, Gilda Ong Ho;

Barangay 22 – Casiño Eldo Galdo; Barangay 23 – Balsarga, Mario; Barangay 24 – Florendo, Milagros; Barangay 25 – Pacalioga Reuben; Barangay 26 – Adecer, Aberto Erfe;

Barangay 27 – Cuyno, Aihambra Dolasan; Barangay 28 – Acierto, Janiber Ranises; Barangay 29 – Aspacio, Irish; Barangay 30 – Zabalbaro, Maria Jasmin Baroña; Barangay 32 – Seno, Ronald;

Barangay 33 – Lim, Condrad; Barangay 35 – Ligtas, Jose; Barangay 37 – Rivera, Albert; Barangay 39 – Gomez, Marcelo; and Barangay 40 – Lim, Yam Lam.

Other winning candidates for barangay chairpersons in the city’s 1st District: Tignapolo-an – Aban, Nancy; Pagalungan – Oporto, Renie; Tagpangi – Sabana, Annie; Tumpagon – Dagsa-an, Cesino; Dansolihon – Montano, France;

Taglimao – Obsioma, Reuben; Carmen – Uy, Lorna Rosemarie; Bonbon – Mabalacad, Allan; Patag – Calizo, Marycor; Lumbia – Alexander Torralba;

Balulang – Micabani, Edwin; Pigsag-an – Rondahan, Sonny; Bayanga – Baang, Felipe; Canito-an – Taboclaon, Joshua; Baikingon – Yañez, Nathan;

Iponan – Ellorin, Maximo; Bulua – Legaspi, Al; Bisigan – Magay, Jayson; Kauswagan – Balite, Pedro; and Bayabas – Abrogar, Eddie.

In the 2nd District: Indahag – Dahino, Joselyn; Nazareth – Rodriguez, Maximo III; Macasandig – Neri, Aaron; Gusa – Marlo Tabac; Camaman-an – Arda, Pedro;

Lapasan – Ogsimer, Julieto; Cugman – Escobia, Wendelyn; Tablon – Ausia, Billy Kid; Agusan – Melisan Andro; Puerto – Achas, Christian;

F.S. Catanico  – Neri, Elpidio Neri; Macabalan – Saa, Norbelle; Balubal – Bagtong, Pablo; and Puntod – Richie Tinampay.


About mindanao goldstar daily

mindanao goldstar daily
TREND MAKER. Mindanao Gold Star Daily was established in 1989 to set ablaze a new meaning & flame to the local newspaper business. Throughout the years it continued its focus and interest in the rural areas & pioneered the growth of countryside journalism.

Check Also

Three of 6 hold-uppers fall in downtown Oro

By JOEY P. NACALABAN Correspondent . Policemen have arrested three of the six robbery suspects ...

DISCLAIMER: We welcome fiery exchanges but we do not tolerate ad hominem attacks, casting criminal and false aspersion on our reporters and opinion writers. We reserve the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted on our website without prior notice.

POSTING RULES: Do not use obscenity. Stick to the topic discussed. Do not veer away from the discussion and be respectful at all times. Do not use CAPITAL LETTERS as this means shouting in the thread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *