Breaking News
Home | Cagayan de Oro | Pimentel: Moreno, other Oro govt officials need to take PDP seminar
Pimentel: Jan. 27 oathtaking confirmed

Pimentel: Moreno, other Oro govt officials need to take PDP seminar

SENATE President Aquilino Martin Pimentel III yesterday confirmed that he would swear in Mayor Oscar Moreno and over a dozen other Cagayan de Oro officials as new members of the PDP-Laban before the month ends.

But while the PDP oath-taking rites at the University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines would push through as scheduled this Jan. 27, Pimentel said Moreno and the other new party members would need to undergo PDP-Laban’s basic membership seminar just like other members.

Pimentel is the president of PDP-Laban.

But if not possible before Jan. 27, Pimentel said, “Utang pa nila ang BMS.”

Based on the party’s rules, members are required to undergo a two-day seminar and until they do, Moreno and Co. would not be considered “full members”, he said.

Pimentel however clarified that the officials’ failure to take the seminar before Jan. 27 won’t stop the oathtaking scheduled in the city.

Those scheduled to take their oath together with Moreno are Vice Mayor Raineir Joaquin Uy, Rep. Rolando Uy of the city’s 1st District,  councilors George Goking, Romeo Calizo, Zaldy Ocon, Reuben Daba, Jay Pascual, Ma. Lourdes Gaane;

Teodulfo Lao Jr., Enrico Salcedo, Ian Mark Nacaya, Annie Daba, Suzette Daba, and  Edna Dahino.

Franklin Quijano, head of the PDP-Laban in Region 10, said PDP-Laban officials have made a commitment to intensify the BMS as a means to build and consolidate the party. He raised this concern in a Jan. 16 letter  addressed to Pimentel.

The letter focused on “legislators”. Part of it reads: “We conceded to the acceptance of legislators to the Party provided that these, legislators with their followers, be required to undergo PDP-Laban Basic Membership Seminars to be participated inclusively by the Party officers and members.”

Also signing the letter addressed to Pimentel are PDP-Laban leaders in Misamis Oriental, Valencia City, Bukidnon, Iligan and Lanao del Norte. The signatories include  Viernes Enteria, Vicente Santos, Rafael Abrogar, Maria Violita Olivam, Rodolfo Pancrudo, Nestor  Ampalayo, Roberto Quico, Lanao del Norte,  Roberto Quijano, Henry Debatos, Gerardo Guiuo, and Leonardo Olivo. (nitz arancon)


About mindanao goldstar daily

mindanao goldstar daily
TREND MAKER. Mindanao Gold Star Daily was established in 1989 to set ablaze a new meaning & flame to the local newspaper business. Throughout the years it continued its focus and interest in the rural areas & pioneered the growth of countryside journalism.

Check Also

Dry spell to affect M’nao next month

By H. Marcos Mordeno of Mindanews .  A WEAK El Niño is present in the ...

DISCLAIMER: We welcome fiery exchanges but we do not tolerate ad hominem attacks, casting criminal and false aspersion on our reporters and opinion writers. We reserve the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted on our website without prior notice.

POSTING RULES: Do not use obscenity. Stick to the topic discussed. Do not veer away from the discussion and be respectful at all times. Do not use CAPITAL LETTERS as this means shouting in the thread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *