Breaking News
Home | Gingoog | Guingona political dynasty crumbles in Gingoog

Guingona political dynasty crumbles in Gingoog

By Edwin Iyo,

GINGOOG City — The Guingona family lost their political control in this Misamis Oriental component city.

On Tuesday night, the city board of canvassers proclaimed former vice mayor Erick Cañosa as the new mayor of this city.

Cañosa’s running mate, 1st District Rep. Peter Unabia, was also proclaimed winner in Monday’s race for the city’s vice mayoral post. The outgoing congressman’s son, Christian, has also dominated the congressional race in the province’s 1st District, beating Vice Gov. Jose Mari Pelaez.

Cañosa beat Vice Mayor Ruthie Guingona, a former governor and mayor, in the race for the city’s top post, garnering 36,435 votes against Guingona’s 30,315.

Unabia won with 36,588 votes against Guingona’s daughter Marie, the city’s current mayor, who received 29,533 votes.

Cañosa and Unabia both ran under the PDP-Laban while the Guingonas ran under the Nacionalista Party.

Marie had opted to give way to her aging mother by running for vice mayor.

Cañosa’s mother Evelyn won a seat in the city council with 40,277 votes.

Other winners in the race for city council seats are Thaddeus  Lugod, 39,892 votes; former vice mayor Marlon Kho, 37,451; Winfred  Militante Jr., 36,522; April Rose Vosotros, 31,433; Judeline Bernaldez, 30,839; Jerome Mercado, 30,298; Myrna Motoomull, 28,754; Roy Aniscal, 25,572; and Aljun Gomez, 25,234 votes.

Most of the winners ran under the Nacionalista Party ticket of the Guingonas.

For the first time, Councilor Mike Paderanga lost his seat in the city council, ranking 11th with 24,412 votes.

Meanwhile in Balingasag town, Vice Mayor Alexis Quina won, 18,318 against 16,466, over reelectionist Mayor Marietta Abogado.

In Lagonglong, Mayor Jap Albert Puertas won with 7,990 against Danilo Gadrinab’s 5,134 and former mayor Jubert Pamisa’s 218.

In Salay, Mayor Jun Capistrano won with 9,333 votes against Emeterio Tagarda Sr.’s 6,999.

In Binuangan, Mayor Romy Gue won with 3,324 votes against Dann Lusterio’s 1,984.

Sugbongcogon Mayor Mondigo Lagbas also won a reelection with 5,138 votes against Arsenio Ondap’s 1,515.

In Kinoguitan, Mayor Gagang Lagbas won with 5,458 votes against Lorie Ramoso’s 3,372.

Balingoan Mayor Aaron Unabia was also reelected with 4,562 votes against Alberto Santos Jr.’s 953.

In Talisayan, Mayor Rommel Maslog was reelected with 10,867 votes against Arthur Sumanpan’s 3,717 and Bertrand Winstanley’s 249.

In Magsaysay, reelectionist Mayor Rey Buhisan won with 14,618 votes against Maritess Gacus’s 1,613.


About mindanao goldstar daily

mindanao goldstar daily
TREND MAKER. Mindanao Gold Star Daily was established in 1989 to set ablaze a new meaning & flame to the local newspaper business. Throughout the years it continued its focus and interest in the rural areas & pioneered the growth of countryside journalism.

Check Also

Sibling rivalry could cripple bus sector

By LITO RULONA, Correspondent . AN ongoing fight between two brothers for the control of …