Breaking News
Home | Top Stories | Murad, other former MILF rebel leaders drop noms de guerre

Murad, other former MILF rebel leaders drop noms de guerre

DON’T call them by their noms de guerre anymore.

After a long, long time, Al Haj Murad Ebrahim, chair of the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF), Central Committee members, the Chief of Staff of the soon-to-be-decommissioned Bangsamoro Islamic Armed Forces (Biaf), and front and base commanders who used noms de guerre, were able to use their real names on Jan. 21 and Feb. 6 when they cast their votes in the plebiscite to ratify Republic Act 11054 or the Organic Law for the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.

“This is my first time to vote,”  the 71-year old MILF chair told reporters who had gathered around him to document the historic moment in his voting precinct at the Simuay Central Elementary School on Jan. 21.  When the poll chair called out Voter Number 88 — Ebrahim, Ahod “Murad” Balawag –  Murad stood up.

Murad’s appointment papers as member of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) and as interim Chief Minister name him as Ahod Balawag Ebrahim. But it will take sometime before people will get used to calling him by his real name.

Even President Duterte, who appointed Ahod Balawag Ebrahim as BTA member and interim Chief Minister, in his speech at the oathtaking on Feb. 22 said he was “pleased to announce the appointment of MILF Chairman Al Haj Murad Ebrahim.”

The interim CM has since been signing papers as Ahod Balawag Ebrahim. Even the outpost at the entrance to the Central Committee’s conference center in Camp Darapanan in Simuay, Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao, where he entertained guests as MILF chair, has used his real name on the tarpaulin congratulating him for having been installed as interim chief minister.

The appointment document of Sammy Al Mansour, also known as Sammy Gambar, Biaf Chief of Staff and now Minister of Environment, Natural Resources and Energy, name him as Abdularaof Abdul Macacua.

Macacua was first appointed to a government post in February 2017 as member of the now  defunct Bangsamoro Transition Commission, the body that drafted the Bangsamoro Basic Law. RA 11054 is the substitute bill filed by the bicameral conference committee.

The names Abdullah Gordiano Macapaar and Akmad Indigay Abas, both BTA members, do not spark interest until their nom de guerres are mentioned. They are the once dreaded ‘Kumander Bravo,” commander of the Biaf’s North Western Mindanao Front and  “Kumander Jack” of the Eastern Mindanao Front.

The MILF-led BTA is an 80-member body that will govern the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (Barmm).  Seventy-two persons took their oath of office before President Duterte in Malacanang on Feb. 22.

On Feb. 27, Malacanang released 76 appointment papers, including the 41st MNLF nominee who was unable to take her oath on Feb. 22 as she was recuperating from an ailment, and four new appointees.  But the appointment paper of a professor and civil society leader from Tawi-tawi who took her oath in Malacanang, was not among those released. 

Of the 76 appointees,  one died on March 13 – MILF 1st Vice Chair Ghazali Jaafar, who was supposed to be Speaker – leaving five more seats to fill up – four to be nominated by government and one nominated by the MILF to replace Jaafar. (Carolyn O. Arguillas of Mindanews)


About mindanao goldstar daily

mindanao goldstar daily
TREND MAKER. Mindanao Gold Star Daily was established in 1989 to set ablaze a new meaning & flame to the local newspaper business. Throughout the years it continued its focus and interest in the rural areas & pioneered the growth of countryside journalism.

Check Also

46 Normin samples test negative for polio

By URIEL C. QUILINGUING, Contributing Editor THE Department of Health on Tuesday said the 46 …