Breaking News
Home | Cagayan de Oro | Normin writers receive national fellowships

Normin writers receive national fellowships

Two members of the Nagkahiusang Magsusulat sa Cagayan de Oro (Nagmac)—senior fellow Arnie Q Mejia and junior fellow Charmaine Carrillo—brought honor to Northern Mindanao with respective national literary fellowships and awards.

Mejia’s creative nonfiction collection, ‘Writing Naked: A Memoir,’ published by UST Publishing House in 2016, has been named as a finalist at the 2017 Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award conferred by the Likhaan: University of the Philippines Institute of Creative Writing.

Currently based in Iligan City, Mejia has been a fellow at the Silliman University National Writers Workshop, UST National Writers Workshop, and the UP National Writers Workshop. He will serve as resource person in the forthcoming Libulan Binisaya Anthology of Queer Literature.

Carrillo, on the other hand, has been accepted as one of the 15 writing fellows at the 2017 Davao Writers’ Workshop, organized by Davao Writers’ Guild and the University of the Philippines – Mindanao. Carrillo is expected to be with 14 other young Mindanaoan poets, fictionists, essayists, and playwrights for a 5-day intensive creative writing fellowshop from November 30 until December 4 under the tutelage of literary stalwarts from southern Mindanao, poet Jojo de Veyra, fictionist John Bengan, and essayist-playwright Jhoanna Lynn Cruz.

Carrillo has recently graduated from Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan. Her works have appeared in Dagmay Literary Journal and the Bulawan Literary Zine of Northern Mindanao. (nagmac)


About mindanao goldstar daily

mindanao goldstar daily
TREND MAKER. Mindanao Gold Star Daily was established in 1989 to set ablaze a new meaning & flame to the local newspaper business. Throughout the years it continued its focus and interest in the rural areas & pioneered the growth of countryside journalism.

Check Also


Read the Latest News and Updates in Mindanao

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *