Breaking News
Home | Top Stories | Opposition gets no committee to chair
Members of the 19th city council of Cagayan de Oro pose after their inaugural session on Wednesday afternoon. (photo by Froilan Gallardo)

Opposition gets no committee to chair

Contributing Editor .

EACH member of the 19th City Council will chair committees except for opposition councilors Jocelyn “Bebot” Rodriguez and Lordan Suan.

City council majority floor leader Ian Mark Nacaya announced who will chair the various committees, the vice chairpersons and members, during Wednesday’s first session of the three-year 19th City Council at the Country Village Hotel.

While they were given no chairmanship, Rodriguez and Suan are vice chairpersons of the committees on labor and employment, and on ethics and blue-ribbon, respectively.

Rodriguez and Suan are members of the Centrist Democratic Party-Padayon Pilipino alliance.

Suan and Rodriguez were also given seats as members of some committees like the panels on labor and employment, ways and means, tourism, ethics and blue ribbon, and cultural communities.

Nacaya said the chairmanships were voted upon after deliberations by members of the city council majority, limiting one’s leadership to a maximum of three committees.

He said his colleagues gave him three committees to chair and these are on economic enterprises, laws and rules, and planning and development. 

Councilor Jay Pascual chairs the committees on agriculture and on tourism, and vice chair on sister city relations committee.

As expected, barangay affairs committee is chaired by Councilor Yam Lam Lim, president of the Liga ng mga Barangay, and his vice chairman is Councilor John Michael Seno, president of the Sangguniang Kabataan Federation. 

Seno chairs the committee on sports and youth development while Lim is his vice chairman.

Councilor Enrico Salcedo chairs the cooperatives committee as well as that of environment while the vice chairpersons are councilors Ma. Lourdes Gaane and George Goking, respectively.

Gaane, a physician, heads the cultural communities and the health and health insurance committees.

Dentist Reuben Daba now chairs the ethics and blue ribbon committee which was previously under Suan, a lawyer.

The committees on education and on sister city relations are under Councilor Suzette Magtajas-Daba while Councilor Edna Dahino chairs the finance, budget and appropriations as well as women and family relations committees.

Newcomer Councilor Joyleen Mercedes “Girlie” Balaba chairs the committees on labor and employment, and on social services. She is also the vice chairperson of the committee on fisheries and aquatic resources, and on women and family relations.

Councilor Teodulfo E. Lao Jr. kept his previous chairmanships on energy and on public utilities while his vice chairpersons are councilors Salcedo and Romeo Calizo, respectively.

Lao, a former Lapasan barangay chairman, is the vice chairman of the committees on finance, budget and appropriations, roads and traffic management, and on laws and rules.

Councilor Zaldy Ocon, who used to chair four committees now chairs the committees on public works and on fisheries and aquatic resources. He used to chair the committees on environment and natural resources, games and amusement, public works, urban and rural poor, aside from being presiding officer pro tempore.  

Calizo, a retired Army general, used to chair three committees — police, fire and public safety, cultural communities, and roads and traffic management. Now, Calizo kept  his hold only on the committees on roads and traffic management, and on police, fire and public safety committees.

A returning member of the city’s legislature, Councilor Roger Abaday is Calizo’s vice chairman in the police, fire and public safety committee. Abaday, a criminologist,  chairs the committee on senior citizens as well as on games and amusement.

Another returning councilor, Edgar Cabanlas, is chairman of the subdivision and landed estate committees as well as on urban and rural poor and housing development.

Trade and commerce as well as ways and means committees are under Councilor George Goking. He is also the vice chairman of the environment and economic enterprises committees.


About mindanao goldstar daily

mindanao goldstar daily
TREND MAKER. Mindanao Gold Star Daily was established in 1989 to set ablaze a new meaning & flame to the local newspaper business. Throughout the years it continued its focus and interest in the rural areas & pioneered the growth of countryside journalism.

Check Also

Iligan council votes in favor of ridding city of curfew

By NORA SORIÑO GSD-Iligan Bureau Chief and HERMIE ARCILLA Contributor ILIGAN City–The city council here …