Breaking News
Home | Sports | Top 2 players from Iligan, Oro lead team to victory
CSB table tennis team captain Joshua M. Padilla in action during the final game at Harrison Plaza table tennis court. (CSB photo)

Top 2 players from Iligan, Oro lead team to victory

By Nora Soriño
Iligan City Bureau Chief

Players from northern Mindanao, Cagayan de Oro City and Iligan City, lead their team to victory and have been hailed as among the top contenders for the table tennis medals in the Palarong Pambansa.

Team captain of the new champion College of Saint Benilde table tennis players this year is from Iligan City, a high school graduate of La Salle Academy Iligan, and now under a scholarship grant at CSB in Manila. He used to be a competitor in the Palarong Pambansa regional and national games, where CSB scouts discovered him. The winning team captain is Joshua Medina Padilla, son of Rene Bautista Padilla who runs a printing shop on Sabayle Street, Iligan City and Sharon Rose Girlie Medina Padilla.

Primary trainer of Joshua has been his father Rene Padilla who used to be an aspirant for the table tennis medals in the National Games back in 1981-1982.

With team captain Joshua Padilla in the CSB champion team were Nash Jacolo (recently taken in as new member of the Philippine National Table Tennis Team); Vince Sy; Ser Knight Benoya (who hails from Cagayan de Oro City); Yuta Turtoza and Stephen Antiporda,

Joshua Padlla is in the junior year of a collegiate business course and still eligible for the 2018 table tennis tournament in the NCAA. (With reports from Goni Loable)


About mindanao goldstar daily

mindanao goldstar daily
TREND MAKER. Mindanao Gold Star Daily was established in 1989 to set ablaze a new meaning & flame to the local newspaper business. Throughout the years it continued its focus and interest in the rural areas & pioneered the growth of countryside journalism.

Check Also

Wave riders from 13 countries vie for Siargao surfing tourney

By Erwin M. MascariñasCorrespondent General Luna, Surigao del Norte — Some 64 participating surfers from …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *