Breaking News
Home | Iligan | Regencia, Vera Cruz, Siao get to keep posts in Iligan

Regencia, Vera Cruz, Siao get to keep posts in Iligan

GSD-Iligan bureau chief

ILIGAN City–Mayor Celso Regencia, Vice Mayor Jemar Vera Cruz and Rep. Frederick Siao have been reelected.

They were proclaimed winners by the city board of canvassers at the session hall of the Sangguniang Panlungsod Tuesday afternoon.

Also proclaimed winners in the race for city council seats were Ryan Ong, Ian Uy, Macky Macapagal, Jake Balanay, Bong Abragan;

Tata Tamula, Queenie Belmonte, Sol Bacsarpa, Noli Pardillo, Demi Plando, Michelle Sweet, and Pisyong Larrazabal.

Abragan, Belmonte, Sweet and Larrazabal are with the local opposition led by Siao while the rest ran under Regencia’s ticket.

Siao, Regencia, Abragan, Belmonte, Sweet,  Larrazabal and Pardillo were not present during their proclamation.

Businessman Marianito Alemania, who had challenged Regencia’s reelection bid, conceded. He said it was time to “leave politics behind, move on and help” for the city’s development.

Siao defeated former city police chief Leony Roy Ga who received 59,623 votes; Siao bagged 62,291 votes.


About mindanao goldstar daily

mindanao goldstar daily
TREND MAKER. Mindanao Gold Star Daily was established in 1989 to set ablaze a new meaning & flame to the local newspaper business. Throughout the years it continued its focus and interest in the rural areas & pioneered the growth of countryside journalism.

Check Also

Gunmen kill another B’non farmer activist

By JIGGER J. JERUSALEM Correspondent . ANOTHER farmer activist was shot and killed inside his …